Facts and Figures surrounding the FA Cup Final

1892 : 1st FA Cup Final when goal nets were used.
1901 : First time the final was filmed by Pathe News.
1903 : Bury 6 Derby County 0 Highest Scoreline in a final.
1922 : James Mitchell (Preston) first and only player to wear spectacles in a final, he was the Preston Goalkeeper.
1924 : Billy Jonathan Hyde Hampson (Newcastle United) is the oldest player in a FA Cup Final.
1927 : First broadcast by BBC radio
1933 : The first cup final where players wore numbers for identification.
1937 : First televised Cup Final.
1946 and 1947 : The ball burst during the game, Charlton Athletic was involved in both games, the reason given was the poor quality of leather that was available after the end of the Second World War.
1952 : Newcastle became the first club to win the FA Cup in consecutive years (1951 + 1952)
1953 : The first football match that was attended by a reigning monarch.
1965 : The first FA Cup Final to feature a black player Albert Johanneson (Leeds United)
1965 : Albert Johanneson (leeds United) was the first black football player to play in a FA Cup Final.
1966 : Mike Trebilcock (Everton) was the first black player to score in an FA Cup final
1968 : The first substitute to be used in an FA Cup final was Dennis Clarke for West Bromwich Albion.
1968 : First time the FA Cup Final was televised in colour.
1985 : Norman Whiteside (Manchester United) was the youngest player to score in an FA Cup final at 17 years 265 days.
1985 : The first player to be sent off in an FA Cup final was Manchester United’s Kevin Moran.
1988 : Dave Beasant was the first goalkeeper to captain an FA Cup winning side.(Wimbledon)
1990 : Crystal Palace team was the last all-English team to play in an FA Cup final.
1993 : Last time a FA Cup Final went to a replay from 1999 all FA Cup finals would be decided on the day, extra-time then if still level a penalty shoot-out.
1993 : Sheffield Wednesday’s Viv Anderson became first black player to captain an FA Cup Final side.
1993 : The first time both managers collected their medals at the same time as the players.
2010 : David James (Portsmouth) become the oldest goalkeeper and oldest Captain to play in a FA Cup Final.
2010 : First time both teams missed a penalty.
2010 : Ashley Cole wins the FA Cup for a record sixth time. (Arsenal 2002,2003,2005) (Chelsea 2007,2009,2010)
2012 : It will be the first FA Cup Final under floodlights at Wembley Stadium in almost 20 years – the last being Arsenal’s replay win over Sheffield Wednesday in 1993, It is the first time the final has been moved away from its traditional 3pm slot since the new Wembley opened its doors in 2007.

Quickest Goal

2009 Louis Saha (Everton) Vs Chelsea 25 Seconds
1997 Roberto Di Matteo (Chelsea) Vs Middlesbrough 42 Seconds
1955 Jackie Milburn (Newcastle United) Vs Manchester City

Youngest Player

2004 – Curtis Weston (Millwall) became the youngest player at 17 years 119 days : came on at the 89th minute mark.
2008 – Aaron Ramsey (Cardiff City) became the second youngest player, at 17 years and 143 days : Came on at the 60th minute.
1879 – James F. M. Prinsep (Clapham Rovers) held the record for 125 years as the youngest ever player to play ina FA Cup at the age of 17 years and 245 days.

Penalties in the FA Cup Finals

Saved or Missed : Excluding Penalty Shoot-outs

Depending how you see this, some will say the goalie saved it or others will say the penalty taker missed it, We list it as a Saved when stopped by the Goalkeeper and as a miss when the ball is sent too high or too wide.

1913 : Penalty Taker – Charlie Wallace (Aston Villa) Goalkeeper – Joe Butler (Sunderland) – Missed

1988 : Penalty Taker – John Aldridge (Liverpool) Goalkeeper – Dave Beasant (Wimbledon) – Saved

1991 : Penalty Taker – Gary Lineker (Tottenham) Goalkeeper – Gary Crossley (Nottingham Forest) – Saved

2010 Penalty Taker – Kevin-Prince Boateng (Portsmouth) Goalkeeper – Petr Cech – Saved

2010 Penalty Taker – Frank Lampard Goalkeeper David James (Portsmouth) – Missed

Penalties Scored

2004 Penalty Taker – Ruud Van Nistleroy (Manchester United) Goalkeeper – Andy Marshall (Millwall)
1994 Penalty Taker – Eric Cantona (Manchester United) Goalkeeper – Dmitri Kharine (Chelsea) – 60th minute
1994 Penalty Taker – Eric Cantona (Manchester United) Goalkeeper – Dmitri Kharine (Chelsea) – 66th minute
1983 Penalty Taker – Arnold Muhren (Manchester United) Goalkeeper – Graham Moseley (Brighton)
1982 Penalty Taker – Glen Hoddle (tottenham Hotsour) Goalkeeper – Peter Hucker (Queens Park Rangers)
1981 Penalty Taker – Kevin Reeves (Manchester City) Goalkeeper – Milija Aleksic (Tottenham Hotspur)
1962 Penalty Taker – Danny Blanchflower (Tottenham) Goalkeeper – Adam Blacklaw (Burnley)
1954 Penalty Taker – Ronnie Allen (West Bromwich) Goalkeeper – George Thompson (Preston)
1948 Penalty Taker – George Shimwell (Blackpool) Goalkeeper – Jack Compton (Manchester United)
1938 Penalty Taker – George Mutch (Preston) Goalkeeper – Bob Hesford (huddersfield Town)
1922 Penalty Taker – Billy Smith (Huddersfield Town) Goalkeeper – James Mitchell  (Preston)
1910 Penalty taker – Albert Shepherd (Newcastle United) Goalkeeper – Fred Mearns (Barnsley)